S3 Client Extension User Guide

S3 Client Extension User Guide

The S3 Client Extension adds to the functionality of the All-in-One WP Migration Plugin by connecting it to your Amazon S3 account. This allows you to directly import and export your website/network of sites between your S3 Client cloud space and your website.

The tool is an extension of the All-in-One WP Migration plugin and requires it to be installed.

After installation and activation, the S3 Client settings appear in the All-in-One WP Migration plugin dropdown:

For more details about installing the tool, you can visit: https://help.servmask.com/knowledgebase/install-instructions-for-s3-client-extension/

This tutorial contains details of:

  • Details about available S3 Client Extension settings
  • Export using S3 Client Extension
  • Import using S3 Client Extension
1. S3 Client Extension Settings

The S3 Client settings page appears in the All-in-One WP Migration plugin’s list of pages. Following the installation and successful activation of the extension:

Clicking it takes you to the settings page. In order for the extension to connect to your account, you must enter your S3 Client login information. You will be unable to use the extension unless you connect to your account from this page.

After logging in, you will see the available settings on the Settings page.

You can specify a time range for your website’s periodic automated backups by selecting one of the options: “Every hour,” “Every day,” “Every week,” or “Every month.” Backup completion notifications can be sent to an e-mail address specified in the “Notification Settings” box on the Settings page. You can specify the destination bucketing your cloud for exports and imports, as well as the Storage class.

By default, the extension creates a folder named “[your-wordpress-site-name]-wordpress” in your S3 Client provider account. You can also configure your preferred backup destination folder in your S3 Client provider account, such as Wasabi S3 Client Storage provider.

Another option is to specify the number of most recent backups to be stored on your Amazon S3 Client cloud storage. You can also specify the total size of backups to store in your Amazon S3 Client account, which is useful if you need space. After you’ve chosen your options, click the “Update” button to save them.

When moving from slow internet to fast internet, you can use the Transfer setting to increase your upload and download speeds on both Import to and Export from for migrating sites to your preferred WordPress sites.

2. Export Using S3 Client Extension

The S3 Client extension export process starts by selecting the Export option in the All-in-One WP Migration plugin menu:

Before you begin the export, on the Export page, there are some additional backup settings you can use:

Using the Find and Replace fields, you can replace text in your backup. Please keep in mind that this change may have an impact on your user access details to the site, so be cautious about what you replace.

You can exclude items from your backup, such as spam comments, themes, inactive plugins, cache, and so on.

After selecting Export from the preceding options, you can choose to create an archive using the Amazon S3 Client from the drop-down menu:

As soon as you select one of the options, in this case S3 Client, the export process begins:

Once your export has been successfully creates and uploads to your cloud, you should see the following message:

The extension creates a bucket in your S3 Compatible Cloud Storage providers account named “[your-wordpress-site-name]-wordpress.” All of your archives created with the All-in-One WP Migration plugin are saved in that bucket. Depending on the name of your site, the bucket might look like this:

3. Import Using S3 Client Extension

The import procedure begins with the Import option in the All-in-One WP Migration plugin’s menu:

Selecting this option opens an Import window where you can choose where to import a backup:

When you select Amazon S3 Client, the extension will display a window with a list of your connected cloud files and folders. From there, select the backup to import and press the Import button. This will initiate the import procedure:

The Import process includes an extra step that warns you that the new backup will overwrite your website’s database, media, plugins, and themes. This is the final step in which you can cancel the process. After clicking “Proceed,” you will be unable to halt the import process.

When finished, a successful import will show the following message:

2 Comments

Leave A Comment?