Amazon Glacier Extension extends the functionality of the All-in-One WP migration plugin. It connects the plugin to your Amazon Glacier account so that you can import and export your website/network of sites directly between your Amazon Glacier space and your website. The extension needs the All-in-One WP Migration to be installed in order to work – so you need both the free plugin and the paid extension activated.
The Amazon Glacier settings appear in the dropdown of the All-in-One WP Migration plugin in WordPress once the extension is installed and activated:
For more details about installing the tool, you can visit: https://help.servmask.com/knowledgebase/install-instructions-for-amazon-glacier-extension/
This tutorial contains details of:
- Details about available Amazon Glacier Extension settings
- Export using Amazon Glacier Extension
- Import using Amazon Glacier Extension
1. Amazon Glacier Extension Settings
Amazon Glacier settings page appears in the list of pages of All-in-One WP Migration plugin once the extension is installed and activated:
When clicking on it you will be redirected to the settings page. You will be asked to enter your Amazon Glacier login details in order the extension to connect to your account. You will not be able to use the extension if you do not connect it with your account here.
Once you are logged in with your details, on the Settings page you will see the available settings you can manage.
You are able to set the destination bucket in your cloud you would like to use for the exports and imports, or the plugin will create a default for you.
You can set a time range for automated backups of your website using one of the options – Every hour, Every day, Every week or Every month. Notifications for a backup completion or failure can be sent to an e-mail address you enter in the ‘Notification Settings’ box in the Settings page.
You can set the number of backups that are to be kept on your Amazon Glacier storage. As new backups are created, older backups will be deleted. Alternatively, you can set the total size of backups you store in Amazon Glacier.
After setting up your desired options, press the ‘Update’ button in order to save them.
Transfer setting is to increase your upload and download speed on both Import to and Export from for migrating sites to your preferred WordPress sites by shifting from slow internet to fast internet.
2. Export Using Amazon Glacier Extension
The export process using Amazon S3 extension is initiated from the Export option in the All-in-One WP Migration plugin menu:
On the Export page, before you start the export, there are some additional settings you can use for your backups:
Using Find and Replace fields, you can have text in your current site replaced in your backup. This is not required and is also not recommended unless you have a clear and specific requirement to change content. You do not need to use this feature to change the site URL – the plugin will do this for you on import. Please bear in mind that if you use this find and replace option, it can affect your user access details to the site – be careful with what you replace.
There are options to exclude items from your backup – spam comments, themes, inactive plugins, cache, etc.
You can choose to use these options or just move straight to creating an export of your site and moving it to Glacier by selecting Amazon Glacier Storage from the drop-down menu:
Choosing one of the options in this drop-down menu starts the export process, you will see this window:
And after your export is created successfully and uploaded to Glacier you will see this message:
3. Import Using Amazon S3 Extension
The import process starts from the Import option in the All-in-One WP Migration plugin menu:
Once you have chosen this option, a new window is opened – Import and you can choose from where to import a backup from a dropdown menu:
When choosing Amazon Glacier, the extension will open a window showing your files and folders. From there you can choose the backup you want to import and press the Import button. This will start the import process:
The Import has an additional step which warns you that your website will be overwritten by the new backup including database, media, plugins, and themes. This is the last point at which you can cancel the process. After pressing ‘Proceed’ you cannot stop the import process.
When finished, a successful import will display this message:
If you have any issues during your export or import, please see the troubleshooting guide.