The Mega Extension connects the All-in-One WP migration plugin to your Mega account. This allows you to easily move your website/network between your Mega cloud space and your website.
The tool works as an extension to the plugin, so you must install the All-in-One WP Migration plugin for it to function.
Once you successfully install and activate the extension, the Mega settings appear in the All-in-One WP Migration plugin’s dropdown:
For more details about installing the tool, you can visit: https://help.servmask.com/knowledgebase/install-instructions-for-mega-extension/
This tutorial contains details of:
- Details about available Mega settings
- Export using Mega Extension
- Import using Mega Extension
1. Mega Extension Settings
After installing and successfully activating the extension, the mega settings page appears in the All-in-One WP Migration plugin’s list of pages:
Clicking it takes you to the settings page. To enable the extension to connect to your Mega cloud account, enter your login credentials. You will be unable to use the extension unless you connect to your account from this page.
Once you have logged in with your information, you will see the available settings you can manage on the Settings page.
You can specify a time range for your website’s periodic automated backups by selecting one of the options: “Every hour,” “Every day,” “Every week,” or “Every month.” Backup completion notifications can be sent to an e-mail address specified in the “Notification Settings” box on the Settings page.
By default, the extension creates a folder in your Mega account called “[your-wordpress-site-name]-wordpress.” You can also configure your preferred backup destination folder in your Mega account.
Another option is to specify the number of most recent backups to be kept on your Mega cloud storage. In addition, you can specify the total size of backups stored in Mega, which is a very useful option if you only have a limited amount of storage space.
After you have chosen your options, click the “Update” button to save them.
2. Export Using Mega Extension
The Mega Extension export process is started by selecting the Export option from the All-in-One WP Migration plugin menu:
Before you begin the export, on the Export page, there are some additional backup settings you can use:
You can have text from your current site replaced in your backup by using the Find and Replace fields. Please keep in mind that this change may affect your site user access details, so be cautious of what you replace.
You can exclude items from your backup, such as spam comments, themes, inactive plugins, cache, and so on.
You can also protect your backup with a password for more security. Be sure to store your password securely so you don’t permanently lock out your backup.
After selecting Export from the preceding options, you can select Mega from the dropdown menu to create an archive:
When you select one of the options, in this case Mega, the export process begins, and you will see the following window:
After you successfully create and upload the export to your cloud, you should see the following message:
The extension creates a folder called “[your-wordpress-site-name]-wordpress” in your Mega account. All of your archives created with the All-in-One WP Migration plugin are saved in that folder. The folder would look something like this, depending on the name of your site:
3. Import Using Mega Extension
The import procedure begins with the Import option in the All-in-One WP Migration plugin’s menu:
When you select this option, a new window titled Import appears, and you can select where to import a backup from a dropdown menu:
When you select Mega, the extension will display a window with a list of your connected cloud files and folders. From there, select the backup to import and press the Import button. This will initiate the import procedure:
The Import process includes an extra step that warns you that the new backup will overwrite your website’s database, media, plugins, and themes. This is the final step in which you can cancel the process. After clicking “Proceed,” you will not be able to stop the import process.
When finished, a successful import will show the following message: