Dropbox Extension adds to the functionality of the All-in-One WP Migration Plugin by connecting it to your Dropbox account. This allows you to directly import and export your website/network of sites between your Dropbox cloud space and your website.
The tool functions as an extension to the plugin, so you must install the All-in-One WP Migration plugin for it to function.
Once you successfully install and activate the extension, the Dropbox settings appear in the All-in-One WP Migration plugin’s dropdown:
For more details about installing the tool, you can visit: https://help.servmask.com/knowledgebase/install-instructions-for-dropbox-extension/
This tutorial contains details of:
- Details about available Dropbox settings
- Export using Dropbox Extension
- Import using Dropbox Extension
1. Dropbox Extension Settings
After installing and successfully activating the extension, the Dropbox settings page appears in the All-in-One WP Migration plugin’s list of pages:
Clicking it takes you to the settings page. To enable the extension to connect to your Dropbox account, you must first log in. You will be unable to use the extension unless you connect to your account from this page.
Once you have logged in with your information, you will see the available settings you can manage on the Settings page.
You can specify a time range for your website’s periodic automated backups by selecting one of the options: “Every hour,” “Every day,” “Every week,” or “Every month”. You can also specify the exact time of the day you prefer the backup to be carried out. Backup completion notifications can be sent to an e-mail address specified in the “Notification Settings” box on the Settings page.
By default, the extension creates a folder in your Dropbox account called “[your-wordpress-site-name]-wordpress.” You can also configure your Dropbox account to store backups in your preferred destination folder.
Another option is to specify the number of most recent backups to be kept on your Dropbox cloud storage. In addition, you can specify the total size of backups stored in Dropbox, which is a useful feature if you only have a limited amount of storage space. Finally, you can determine how long you want your backup to be stored in your drive before it is deleted.
After you have chosen your options, click the “Update” button to save them.
The transfer setting allows you to increase your upload and download speeds on both Import to and Export from when migrating sites to your preferred WordPress sites by switching from slow to fast internet.
2. Export Using Dropbox Extension
The Dropbox extension export process is started by selecting the Export option in the All-in-One WP Migration plugin menu:
Before you begin the export, on the Export page, there are some additional backup settings you can use:
You can have text from your current site replaced in your backup by using the Find and Replace fields. Please keep in mind that this change may affect your site user access details, so be cautious of what you replace.
You can exclude items from your backup, such as spam comments, themes, inactive plugins, cache, and so on.
After selecting Export from the preceding options, you can choose to create an archive using Dropbox from the dropdown menu:
When you select one of the options, in this case Dropbox, the export process begins, and you will see the following window:
Once you successfully create and upload the export has been to your cloud, you should see the following message:
The extension creates a folder in your Dropbox account called “All in One WP Migration” (Apps > All in One WP Migration). All of your archives created with the All-in-One WP Migration plugin are saved in that folder. The folder would look something like this, depending on the name of your site:
3. Import Using Dropbox Extension
The import procedure begins with the Import option in the All-in-One WP Migration plugin’s menu:
Selecting this option opens an Import window where you can choose where to import a backup:
When you select Dropbox, the extension will display a window with all of your connected cloud files and folders. From there, select the backup to import and press the Import button. This will initiate the import procedure:
The import includes an additional step that warns you that the new backup will overwrite your website’s database, media, plugins, and themes. This is the final step in which you can cancel the process. After clicking “Proceed,” you will not be able to stop the import process.
When finished, a successful import will show the following message: